clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards Show: How to Watch and Open Thread

Michael Keaton!

Wow. Glitzy!
Wow. Glitzy!
Ethan Miller/Getty Images

Live from the NHL's newest non-Canadian market, it's the NHL Awards! With your host, Arrested Development's Will Arnett and special musical guests X Ambassadors. No, I'm not making that up.

Islanders captain John Tavares and teammate Matt Martin have made the trip and are ready to be screwed out of the hardware because the league hates them. It's a fact.

Here's what you need to know to watch. Stay here to chat about who got what and how could they that's ridiculous who voted for that bum.

How to watch the 2016 NHL Awards

7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT | Wednesday, June 22
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas
American TV: NBCSN | Canadian TV: Sportsnet
Live streaming on NBC Live Extra

2015 NHL Awards Finalists

  • Hart Trophy (league MVP): Patrick Kane, Jamie Benn, Sidney Crosby.
  • Norris Trophy (best defenseman): Erik Karlsson, Drew Doughty, Brent Burns.
  • Vezina Trophy (best goaltender): Braden Holtby, Ben Bishop, Jonathan Quick.
  • Calder Trophy (top rookie): Artemi Panarin, Connor McDavid, Shayne Gostisbehere.
  • Selke Trophy (best defensive forward): Anze Kopitar, Patrice Bergeron, Ryan Kesler.
  • Lady Byng Trophy (most gentlemanly forward): Anze Kopitar, Aleksander Barkov, Loui Eriksson.
  • Masterton Trophy (dedication / perseverance): Jaromir Jagr, Mats Zuccarello, Pascal Dupuis.
  • NHL Foundation Award (community service): Matt Martin, P.K. Subban, Mark Giordano.
  • Mark Messier Leadership Award: Alex Ovechkin, Shea Weber, John Tavares.
  • Ted Lindsay Award (MVP as voted by the players): Patrick Kane, Jamie Benn, Braden Holtby.
  • Jack Adams Award (best coach): Lindy Ruff, Barry Trotz, Gerard Gallant.
  • General Manager of the Year: Jim Rutherford, Brian MacLellan, Jim Nill.

*   *   *

And here's the order of awards presentations and presenters. The awards Tavares and Martin are up for are almost back-to-back, so if you don't want to watch all two hours of it, you can stop in and pop out when they're done. Also: Michael Keaton!

Calder Trophy (top rookie) Presenter: Jacob Tremblay

Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players) Presenters: X Ambassadors

General Manager of the Year Presenters: Penn & Teller

Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey) Presenters: Kathryn Tappen & Anson Carter with Gerry and Wyatt Nelson

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award Presenters: Tara Slone & Mark Messier

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (for leadership on and off the ice and noteworthy humanitarian contribution to community) Presenters: Tara Slone & Mark Messier

NHL Foundation Player Award (community service) Presenters: Tara Slone & Mark Messier

EA NHL® 17 Cover Athlete Presenter: Elliotte Friedman

Norris Trophy (top defenseman) Presenter: Jason Priestley

Selke Trophy (forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game) Presenters: Jason Priestley & Kevin Lowe

Jack Adams Award (top head coach) Presenter: Anders Holm

Lady Byng Trophy (player best combining sportsmanship and ability) Presenter: Olivia Culpo

Vezina Trophy (top goaltender) Presenters: Kevin Weekes & Dominik Hasek

Hart Trophy (most valuable player to his team) Presenter: Michael Keaton