clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Highlights: Finally, goals pile in Bridgeport's win over Syracuse

Captain Colin McDonald logged four points as the Sound Tigers ended their eight-game winless streak in a big way, racking up goals in a 7-2 win over Syracuse.

Johan Sundstrom was one of many Sound Tigers to tally in a 7-2 slump-busting win.
Johan Sundstrom was one of many Sound Tigers to tally in a 7-2 slump-busting win.
Bruce Bennett

First, it's just strange to see the Tampa Bay Lightning bolt backed in orange. But that's how it appears on the Syracuse Crunch shoulder patches now that the Lightning's affiliate -- and last year's AHL Calder Cup champion -- has been ported from Norfolk.

Anyway, sartorial observations aside, the Bridgeport Sound Tigers finally ended the weekend with good news: A convincing 7-2 win over Syracuse to end the eight-game winless streak.

The Sound Tigers still opened the game with a string of penalties. They were still outshot, 39-26 overall and a whopping 23-10 in the second period.

But Casey Cizikas' early shorthander started things off, Jon Landry's powerplay goal continued them, and the game was barely half way through by the time Bridgeport had opened a comfortable, outshoot-us-all-you-want 5-0 lead.

New captain Colin McDonald led the way with two goals and two assists, but the score sheet is a veritable slump-busting party. By the end, Anders Nilsson had a comforting 37 saves on 39 shots as he handled both games of this back-to-back weekend. (His counterparts could not say the same, each facing 13 shots and conceding crooked numbers.)

The Sound Tigers are finally back in the win column. They're back to quasi-.500 at 11-11-0-1. They can officially put this streak behind them as they prepare for a rare Tuesday night game in Portland.


Lines (per official recap)

22 Nino Niederreiter – 29 Brock Nelson – 13 Colin McDonald
23 John Persson – 28 Johan Sundstrom – 17 Max MacKay
16 Sean Backman – 11 Casey Cizikas – 20 Blair Riley
44 Brett Gallant – 14 Matt Watkins – 40 Mike Halmo

46 Matt Donovan – 6 Ty Wishart
27 Aaron Ness – 8 Nathan McIver
15 Marc Cantin – 7 Jon Landry