New York Islanders 2011-12 Training Camp Dates, Rookie Roster

Yeah, well, like, none of you can skate as fast as Michael Grabner, so, you know, just give up, man.

The New York Islanders announced the dates, time slots and rookie invitees for September's training camp, so plan your sick days and dental appointments lunch breaks accordingly. The rookie camp begins the week prior, on Sept. 10.

Sept. 12-13 will feature two rookie squad games vs. the Bruins at Nassau [gloriously unsponsored] Veterans Memorial Coliseum at 7 p.m., but only the Tuesday, Sept. 13 game is open to the public. Season ticket holders get free admission to that one, while the general public will be charged a $10 donation to the Islanders Children’s Foundation. 

The full schedule and the invitees for that rookie camp are reposted below. Obviously that means rookie pros and juniors, so NCAA "amateurs, Dude" like Anders Lee and Brock Nelson won't be there. No, not Cody Rosen either.

But the rest of the rookie roster is chock-full of the prospect pipeline and recent AHL free agent additions. The battle will be on.

The Islanders also added that beginning Saturday, Sept. 17, the full training camp roster will split into two squads and on-ice sessions will take place between 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. It's not specified in the release which, if any, of those sessions will be open to the public. But it's a good bet you will not be able to view player physicals, nor commercial video shoots of strapping young bodies in chains. Sorry.

 

Rookie and Training Camp Schedule
(Schedule subject to change)
DAY DATE TIME (EST) EVENT LOCATION
Sat. Sept. 10 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Rookie Practice Nassau Coliseum
Sun. Sept. 11 11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. Rookie Practice Nassau Coliseum
Mon. Sept. 12 7:00 p.m. Rookie Game vs. BOSTON Nassau Coliseum
(closed to public)
Tues. Sept. 13 7:00 p.m. Rookie Game vs. BOSTON Nassau Coliseum
Wed. Sept. 14 1:10 p.m. Islanders Children’s
Foundation Golf Outing
Bethpage Red
10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Rookie Practice Iceworks
Thurs. Sept. 15 TBD Rookie Practice Iceworks
Fri. Sept. 16 7 a.m. Player Physicals Nassau Coliseum
Sat. Sept. 17 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice Iceworks
Sun. Sept. 18 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Off-ice Workout Iceworks
Mon. Sept. 19 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice Iceworks
Tues. Sept. 20 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice Nassau Coliseum
Wed. Sept. 21 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice Nassau Coliseum
Thurs. Sept. 22 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice Nassau Coliseum
Fri. Sept. 23 7:00 p.m. @ BOSTON TD BANK GARDEN
Sat. Sept. 24 7:00 p.m. vs. NEW JERSEY NASSAU COLISEUM
Sun. Sept. 25 9:00 a.m. Community Event Adventureland
Mon. Sept. 26 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice TBD
Tues. Sept. 27 9:00 p.m. @ CALGARY SCOTIA BANK SADDLEDOME
Wed. Sept. 28 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice Nassau Coliseum
Thurs. Sept. 29 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice Iceworks
Fri. Sept. 30 7:00 p.m. @ NEW JERSEY PRUDENTIAL CENTER
Sat. Oct. 1 7:00 p.m. vs. BOSTON WEBSTER BANK ARENA
Mon. Oct. 3 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice Iceworks
Tues. Oct. 4 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice Iceworks
Wed. Oct. 5 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Practice Nassau Coliseum

 

2011 Rookie Camp Attendees*
Forwards Defensemen Goalies
Justin DiBenedetto Art Bidlevski Mikko Koskinen
Casey Cizikas Calvin de Haan Anders Nilsson
Brett Gallant Matt Donovan Kevin Poulin
Kirill Kabanov Mark Katic
Tyler McNeely Brendan Kichton
Nino Niederreiter Anton Klementyev
John Persson Aaron Ness
Rhett Rakhshani Benn Olson
Tony Romano Andrey Pedan
Ryan Strome
Mitchell Theoret
David Ullstrom

Holy cow, we're less than a month away.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Lighthouse Hockey

You must be a member of Lighthouse Hockey to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Lighthouse Hockey. You should read them.

Join Lighthouse Hockey

You must be a member of Lighthouse Hockey to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Lighthouse Hockey. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9355_tracker